ELECTRIC SHEEP

welcome to the desert of the real. - morpheus (from the matrix 1)

This is the start of my blog electricsheep (all one word because I'm pretty sure there's a software dev company that has the same name, and branding is righteous and pure) [I'm also sure there's a million different things named electric sheep it's pretty popular and comes from a Phillip k dick book but I thought it was a funny name since I'm only going to make blogposts from my Android get it]

I'm gonna be using this as a sort of foreword to the blog, mostly for myself so I can figure out exactly what I want to be writing about here, but also for you, the reader, because I want us to both know what we're getting into here.

Forewords are kind of like my least favorite parts of books a lot of the time. Either it's the author talking about why they wrote the book or what the setting was like when they first wrote the book and how times have changed since the first publishing of the book, or its some completely different person talking about the same things, maybe someone with a degree or someone who knew the author in some capacity. I find myself thumbing through these, thinking it seems interesting enough but I always end up skipping them because it feels like I'm getting upsold on a book I already bought. An argument for forewords would be as follows: context matters. You'd be correct to argue that. There are a lot of important pieces of art that are made important by their context. But if I wanted to read about that, I would, I wouldn't seek out a foreword because 15 pages aren't going to tell me nearly enough. I'll get better at this.

I've got a couple articles coming, so let me wet your palette:

  1. I've been watching Better Call Saul, and it might be the best contemporary television show ever made.

  2. My friends have been playing metal gear solid games and it reminded me a lot of how much I love those games, so I've got something coming about them.

  3. Brat by Charli XCX, a pop album, has been deemed counter revolutionary by Twitter users and I don't even like the album that much but I have to talk about it

  4. I'll probably review tabletop games on here just because I like them

  5. New media makes me want to kill myself, here's why

That last one was dramatic. Anyways, if you're keeping up with this or you read to the end, thank you. I'm trying to have an article published every week, but I'm only one person and I don't have an editor. Let's see how that goes.

What I'm watching: Woan Ni on YouTube is a brilliant lecturer

What I'm reading: comedy comedy comedy drama- bob odenkirk's memoir

What I'm playing: path of exile, yakuza 7

What I'm listening to: the melvins

How I'm exercising: the elliptical

That's all for now.